EATS!: Veggie quiche with bacon for lunch!

For lunch this work week, I decided to fall back on an old favorite: quiche!

I went through a phase where I was making quiche for breakfast/lunch every week!

quiche1

quiche2

I love that it’s an easy and versatile recipe! I never even really follow a “recipe” when I make quiche. There are probably about a million and a half varieties of quiche out there!

The thing with quiche and the Paleo Diet is that obviously that crust made out of flour in a traditional quiche is a no go.

Instead, I just make a crustless quiche! I honestly don’t miss the crust one bit!

I pick out the ingredients that I would like to include in my quiche. This time it was green pepper, red pepper, red onion, mushrooms, spinach and bacon.

Prepping the veggies is probably the most involved part of pulling this quiche together!

On Saturday night, I sliced up the peppers, onion, and mushrooms…

20130727_202855

While baking the bacon in the oven.

20130727_203257All of the veggies were sauteed on the stove with about a half-stick of butter. Paula Deen style! (Too soon?!)

20130727_203031

Then, I combined the veggies with the bacon, and poured the veggie mash into my quiche pan. I like using a loaf pan because then I can cut up slices to pack for work.

20130727_211610

I then whisked together about six eggs with some salsa I picked up at the grocery store, and poured the egg mixture over the veggies.

20130727_211635_2

20130727_211827

The quiche was baked for about 30-40 minutes at about 350-375 degrees, or until the egg has firmed up.

Then, the quiche can be stored in the fridge until it’s time to slice it up, microwave it and chow down!

20130727_222345

Quiche — it’s just one of those recipes that never fails!

20130727_222350

The great thing about this recipe as a work week lunch is the convenience of having the meal be able to be put together completely ahead of time. When it’s time to go, you throw the quiche into a container and you’re on your way!

This entry was posted in EATS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to EATS!: Veggie quiche with bacon for lunch!

  1. healthnutmum says:

    This really looks and sounds good. I’ll have a go.

Leave a Reply

