EATS!: Keeping things healthy with a green smoothie for lunch

I decided to keep things healthy for this work week’s lunches.

In less than a month, we’re heading up north to Tomahawk, for our annual fishing tournament, so I’d like to get a little healthier before then!

I bought about 5 or 6 bags of greens for this week. It’s been AWHILE since I enjoyed some kale and spinach.

First up was a green smoothie for lunch. I based the smoothie off of THIS RECIPE.

20130722_121247My green smoothie included spinach, kale, 1 Fuji apple, 1/2 banana, 1 Valencia orange, a handful of blueberries, and about a cup of plain Greek yogurt.

20130722_120644

20130722_120912

I put everything in the blender, and then sipped on my special blender bottle throughout the work day.

20130722_120940

The blender bottle has a wire ball in it that helps to blend your drink while you’re drinking it. They are pretty neat! I found mine at Target.

20130722_121059

I supplemented lunch with some slices of grass-fed and raw milk cheese from Trader Joe’s, and two slices of bacon.

20130720_233831_1

20130722_121724

Delicious and healthy — and easy to prepare. I blended up the smoothies in the morning before heading off to work. The bacon was baked on Saturday, and the cheese was sliced up easily before work.

This entry was posted in EATS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

