EATS!: Chicken, veggie + avocado Spring Rolls!

My work week dinner this week was inspired by THIS RECIPE from NatureBox!

I LOVE Spring Rolls, and happened to have a crap-ton of rice paper wrappers on hand from previous overzealous purchases…and decided this would make a perfect light 1/2 of my dinner for this work week!

I have a love/hate relationship with Spring Rolls. I love them because they are so utterly delicious and just GORGEOUS to look at…but mine are often less than pretty!

Photo Courtesy NatureBox

Photo Courtesy NatureBox

For some reason, my rice paper wrappers always fall apart — spilling out the contents of my Spring Rolls 😦

I know my #1 problem is overfilling my Spring Rolls — but I can’t help it! I want mega Spring Rolls with TONS of delicious flavor!

Problem #2 is the fact that I’m not eating these immediately after assembling them. They are packed, and stored at room temperature until it’s time to eat dinner at work around 8:00 p.m. They are prepared around noon.

SO, I’m not blaming the Spring Rolls for being less-than-cooperative.

20130707_120643However, I am frustrated and seeking advice!!!

One thing I DID try this week was putting a leaf of romaine lettuce between the rice paper roll (after soaking the rice paper roll in warm water), and then stacking my Spring Roll ingredients onto the LETTUCE.

Not only does this step make it easier to roll the Spring Rolls, it also helps them to hold together MUCH, much better!

20130710_120309

20130710_120952(1)As for the filling, I sliced up some cucumber, red and green peppers, carrots and avocado, and tossed in some of the shredded chicken I cooked up in the slow cooker this weekend.

20130706_230040The sauce I used for dipping consisted of some organic creamy peanut butter, Hoisin sauce and sriracha.

20130707_123722How do you get your Spring Rolls looking beautiful, holding your ingredients and tasting amazing? I’d love to hear your suggestions!

This entry was posted in EATS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EATS!: Chicken, veggie + avocado Spring Rolls!

  1. I have a hard time rolling the perfect summer rolls myself! I think practice is key. Yours look very nice to me.

Leave a Reply

